Reckless Driving/Reckless Endangerment Charge In Guilford County, NC.
What Is Reckless Driving?
As defined in North Carolina General Statute §20-140, a person can be convicted of Reckless Driving if:
- a person drives a vehicle on a highway or any public vehicular area carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others; or
- a person drives a vehicle on a highway or any public vehicular area without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property; or
- a person drives a commercial motor vehicle carrying a load that is subject to the permit requirements of G.S. 20-119 on a highway or a public vehicular area either:
- carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others; or
- without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property.
If convicted of Reckless Driving, you would be guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor, which could carry a 60 day jail sentence and up to a $1000.00 fine plus court costs. In North Carolina, you would also receive 4 points on your license and your insurance would almost double.
Why Was I Charged With Reckless Driving?
Most often Reckless Driving is charged along with a high speed tickets. Driving 15mph over the posted speed or any speed over 80mph could be accompanied by a Reckless Driving charge. However, you can also be charged for other offenses like running a red light or stop sign, veering over a center line, spinning tires, racing, or any other act an officer believes put the public at risk.
What Options Are Available To Defend Against Reckless Driving?
As previously discussed, Reckless Driving is a serious offense and should be taken seriously. It is advisable to contact a criminal traffic attorney who is experienced in handling these types of cases in Guilford County, NC.
Because of the complexities involved as well as usually being associated with another charge, like speeding, a lawyer will look at all facts of your case to see what options may be available. In many cases, an attorney may advise you to complete a defensive driving course and some community service. This could allow for more leverage in negotiating a reduction or dismissal of the charge.
Contact Us Today: Email or Call Now (336) 389-1211.
If you received a charge of Reckless Driving or Reckless Endangerment with a court date in Guilford County, North Carolina, at either Greensboro or High Point courthouse, please do not delay, contact our office today. We will help guide you through your particular set of facts and what options may be available.